Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Publication Date
22 August 2017

ACME Outstanding Contribution Award for 2017

Jon Wolfe and Azamat Mametjanov, pictured here with the ACME Executive Committee members and BER leadership.

Jon Wolfe and Azamat Mametjanov were honored with a commendation from the ACME Executive Committee presented by Sharlene Weatherwax, Associate Director of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Biological and Environmental Research (BER), at the June 2017 ACME meeting.

The awards are given at each science team meeting (twice per year) to two Accelerated Climate Modeling for Energy project team members in recognition of those who have gone “above and beyond” to contribute to the project. This includes demonstrated commitment, important scientific or technical ideas or advances, or noteworthy inter/intra-disciplinary teamwork. Award nominations are solicited from group leads for ACME team members; group leads and council members are excluded. Selection from the nominations is made by the executive committee.

This year, the ACME Executive Committee awarded the following ACME members:

Jon Wolfe, Los Alamos National Laboratory, was recognized for his outstanding effort and support on a broad range of coupled and ocean model tasks, including software problems, code portability, and model development workflow improvements.

Azamat Mametjanov, Argonne National Laboratory, was recognized for his significant contributions to ACME performance, response to critical issues, and laying the groundwork for future challenges on next-generation computers.

Funding Program Area(s)