Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Publication Date
8 June 2015

ACME Team Honored with DOE Secretarial Honor Award

Secretary Moniz presented the 2015 DOE Secretarial Honor Awards to the ACME Executive Committee, pictured here during a special program held May 8 at DOE headquarters in Washington, D.C. From left to right: Mark Taylor, Secretary Moniz, David Bader, and Bill Collins.
2015 DOE Secretarial Honor Award

A collaborative team of researchers responsible for leading the newly launched Accelerated Climate Modeling for Energy (ACME) project have been awarded the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Secretarial Honor Award chosen by Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz. Sponsored by the Earth System Modeling (ESM) program within DOE's Office of Biological and Environmental Research, ACME is the only major national modeling project designed to address DOE science and mission needs to efficiently use DOE current and future computing facilities. 

Among the awarded team are the ACME Principal Investigator David Bader (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory), ACME Chief Scientist William Collins (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory), and ACME's Chief Computational Scientist Mark Taylor (Sandia National Laboratory).

The DOE Secretarial Honor Awards are bestowed on a group or team of employees who accomplished significant achievements on behalf of the department. The awards are designed to recognize the career service and contributions of DOE employees to the mission of the department and to the benefit of the nation. 

Funding Program Area(s)